Boomershine gets final spot in PWBA Tour Championship

  • 28 August 2018
  • Author: Emil
  • Number of views: 2810
  • - Comments
Boomershine gets final spot in PWBA Tour Championship

ARLINGTON, Texas - The 16-player field for the Professional Women’s Bowling Association Tour Championship now is official. 

The PWBA Tour’s season-ending event will take place Sept. 16-19 at Richmond Raceway in Richmond, Virginia. The PWBA Tour Championship brings together all eligible champions from 2018, with the remainder of the field filled through the season points list.

Shayna Ng of Singapore, the first player to earn an invitation after winning the season-opening PWBA Las Vegas Open, informed the PWBA she would have to decline her spot because of prior commitments. 

Lindsay Boomershine, next in line on the points list, accepted the spot and will make her PWBA Tour Championship debut.

Boomershine received the news from PWBA Director of Operations Tennelle Milligan on Tuesday afternoon. You can watch Boomershine’s reaction to the news below.

Shannon O’Keefe, who already has wrapped up the 2018 PWBA Player of the Year award, will lead the field into Richmond as the top seed after a season which included two victories, including the United States Bowling Congress Queens. No. 2 seed Danielle McEwan earned her spot after capturing the PWBA Fountain Valley Open.

As the top two seeds, O’Keefe and McEwan each receive byes though the first three rounds and are directly seeded into semifinal matches, which will take place live on CBS Sports Network.

Stefanie Johnson, who recently captured her first career major at the QubicaAMF PWBA Players Championship, catapulted herself into the No. 3 seed, while three-time PWBA Player of the Year Liz Johnson, who won two titles this season, will be the No. 4 seed. Those two players will receive a one-round bye and will begin bracket play in Round 2.

The rest of the field includes (by seed and how they qualified): Liz Kuhlkin (U.S. Women’s Open), 2018 PWBA Rookie of the Year Jordan Richard (Greater Harrisburg Open), Bryanna Coté (points), Rocio Restrepo ( PWBA Twin Cities Open), Josie Barnes (PWBA East Hartford Open), Erin McCarthy (PWBA Louisville Open), Diana Zavjalova (points), Kelly Kulick (points), Maria Jose Rodriguez (points), Missy Parkin (points), Shannon Pluhowsky (points) and Boomershine (points). 

Visit and follow the PWBA social channels, including Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, for more news and information about the PWBA Tour Championship.

Categories: Tournaments
Rate this article:



Filter by Categories